The City of Earlville operates under a Mayor / Council form of government. The Council is made up of six Aldermen. Two Aldermen are elected, from each of the three wards in the City, for four year terms. Elections are held on a non-partisan basis in April every other year. One Alderman from each ward is elected every other year to provide continuity to the council. The Mayor, City Clerk and Treasurer are elected every fourth year, each for a four year term.

The City Council is responsible for the general administration of all City business and coordinates Department Heads. The Department Heads and all other City employees assist in providing the services legislated by the City Council for the citizens of Earlville.


Refer to the navigation menu for more specific areas of Government.